2 C's blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Emigrant problem

Hi, I have a really important problem. I am from Ukraine but I live in Poland for four months. The validity of my visa ends next month. I must get married with a polish man or go back to my country. I prefer to stay in Poland because I have a good work here. I don’t want to come back to Ukraine because getting a visa is very difficult. Three months ago I met a Pole who wants to be my husband but he is a Catholic and I am an orthodox. He doesn’t want to his wife be of another faith. Have I to agree to change their faith? What do you think I should do? Lots of love.

October 5, 2011 - Posted by | Ania, Mirela, Ola P

2 Comments »

  1. Hello,
    In my opinion the first thing you should do is to answer one serious question: do you REALLY love him or prefer to stay with him just to get a visa? If you want to marry this Pole only because of the advantages you think you’ll have, you’ll probably end up breaking his heart and causing yourself even more problems.
    However, if you actually truly love him and would like to be his wife, then I think both of you should discuss the matter of your faith; tell him that the religion shouldn’t build a fence between you, because love is about accepting beloved one’s choices; of course, sometimes they’re harsh and can be harmful for both of the sides, but the fact that you, for example, celebrate some events on different dates cannot destroy your relationship – it’s sensless! You could also give him some examples of SIMILARITIES between Catholics and Eastern Orthodox; we are not so different after all. Remember that you don’t have to agree to change your faith and if you prefer to stay an Orthodox, tell him you don’t feel like being able to cope with a sudden change of beliefs. If he really loves you and craves your happiness, he’ll understand and even try to suggest some other opportunities.
    I wish you luck and hope your problem will be happily solved!

    Comment by kinga7p | October 5, 2011 | Reply

  2. I totally agree with Kinga. I think this is the best solution :).

    Comment by aniaow32 | October 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

